Pictures of Roma in Geneva

 

Born in 1972, Eric Roset, Genevan photographer native of France, has fallen beneath the spell of the Gipsies « reading Propser Mérimée’s novels and discovering Emir Kusturica’s baroque movies ». In 1998 he met the Roma for the first time during a trip to the land of the vampires. He wa sshocked at once by the racism that this community of two million people is enduring.

 

The following winter, this self-taught photographer shoots some pictures of Roma children begging at a crossroad near the city of Brasov. The subject will motivate him to go back about ten times to Romania and will lead to the “Opre Roma! Stand up Roma!” title of a first exhibition shown in Geneva, Paris and Marseille among other places. Eric Roset also takes pictures of Gipsies in France and in Switzerland.

 

One day, traveling in France, Eric meets a small group of Roma. These broke travelers come from Aiud a small town in Transylvania and the aim of their journey is … Geneva. They will draw some money from this city begging, living with no roof, no heating and no water. Other members of their community later join them.

 

Eric Roset gets in touch with these Europeans who sleep under bridges. His pictures show how they beg but also how they come together and relax during the day or in the evening. He pictures them eating, sleeping, playing and partying and manages to capture the streak of eccentricity typical of the Gispsies and that fascinates the Gadjes. “Roma are not only beggars”, Eric Roset insists.

 

The pictures of this instinctive photographer also show the look of passers-by confronted to begging. These show that the closeness of this gesture is never easy. It is this very difficulty that leads to the departure of the Roma and not criminality – police don’t accuse the Roma of stealing – or the existence of a network.

 

Mid-November, the Genevan authorities launched their plan to get rid begging. Eric Roset witnesses two evacuations of Gipsy camps, something that he already had pictured in Paris. “One could have let them find a place to live or even better let them work” he says. The stay of these Roma in Geneva “made it possible for some families to enhance their living at home … but in undignified conditions”. That is Eric Roset’s conclusion who is also a member of the Genevan association Mesemrom which means “I am a man”.

 

Stéphane Herzog

 

Translation M-A Schüpfer

 

Some Pictures of Roma Migrating in Geneva

Photographies de Roms à Genève

 

Né en 1972, le photographe genevois d’origine française Eric Roset est tombé sous le charme des Tsiganes «en lisant des romans de Prosper Mérimée en découvrant les films baroques d’Emir Kusturica».  En 1998, un voyage le conduit au pays des vampires. Premières rencontres avec des Roms. Et premier choc, provoqué par le racisme qui frappe cette communauté de deux millions de personnes.

 

L’hiver suivant, ce photographe autodidacte réalise des images aux environs de la ville de Brasov, sur un croisement où des enfants roms mendient. Le sujet motivera une dizaine de déplacements en Roumanie et débouchera sur « Opre Roma! Debout les Roms! », titre d’une première exposition montée à Genève, Paris et Marseille, notamment. En France et en Suisse, Eric Roset photographie des Gens du voyage: Manouches, Gitans, Jensich.

 

Un jour alors qu’il voyage en France, Eric fait la rencontre d’un petit groupe de Roms. Ces voyageurs fauchés viennent de la petite ville d’Aiud, en Transylvanie, et sont en route vers … Genève. Ils tireront de l’argent de cette ville à travers la mendicité, vivant sans toit, ni chauffage, ni eau. Puis feront venir ici d’autres membres de leur communauté.

 

Eric Roset prend naturellement langue avec ces Européens qui dorment sous des ponts. Ses images montrent la mendicité, mais aussi les retrouvailles et les moment de détente des Roms, durant la journée et le soir, en différents lieux de Genève. Il photographie les repas, le dormir, le jeu et la fête. Et capte un peu de ce grain de folie qu’il y a chez les Tsiganes et qui fascine tant certains Gadjé. «Les Roms ne sont pas seulement des mendiants», insiste Eric Roset.;

 

On retrouve aussi dans l’objectif de ce photographe instinctif les regards de passants confrontés à la mendicité. Ceux-ci montrent assez que la proximité physique avec ce geste, désespéré, n’est jamais aisée. C’est d’ailleurs cette difficulté qui va entraîner le départ des Roms et non la criminalité – la police n’accuse pas les Roms de voler - ou l’existence de prétendus «réseaux».

 

Mi-novembre, les autorités genevoises ont activé leur plan de lutte contre la mendicité. Eric Roset assiste à l’évacuation de deux campements tsiganes, sujet qu’il a d’ailleurs déjà couvert à Paris. «On aurait pu leur permettre de se loger et, mieux encore, les autoriser à travailler», dit-il. Le séjour des Roms à Genève aura donc «permis à des familles d’améliorer leurs conditions de vie au pays … mais au prix d’une vie passée dans des conditions indignes». Ainsi conclut Eric Roset, qui est aussi membre de l’association genevoise Mesemrom, soit littéralement, «je suis un Homme».

 

Stéphane Herzog.

 

Quelques Images De Roms Migrants à Genève