ABOUT THE PHOTOGRAPHS OF ROMA WOMEN TAKEN BY ERIC ROSET, BY CLAIRE AUZIAS

 

Gypsies are one of those subjects pampered by photographers: exoticism and visual force are guaranteed. Whatever the style of the photographer is, he will find hapiness in these people from all countries united in a suggestive power which have often been celebrated. Even in Arles, with Lucien Clergue, the illustrious predecessor. There have been photographs of Roma from all countries since the nineteenth century in European museums.

 

Eric Roset is registered in that particular pictorial tradition that captures a moment, an expression and offers it to us. But his photographs of women, more than his other subjects and characters, are signed by an idiosyncrasy which is recognizable from afar. These women are ultra-modern, perhaps even post-modern.

 

They live in various European countries, they are rural or urban, live in a caravan or are sedentary. But they are never frozen on glossy paper for the posterity of stereotypes that have done so much in the construction of an imaginary Roma woman. No, the women observed by Eric Roset don't have to be ashamed of their place in Europe today, because they act like all women of Europe. They sit together to discuss, among women. He captures two friends here, three gossipers there, four roma workers elsewhere. Children wearing make up, others posing with a sulky pout, or even a grimace. They are working: harvesting, gathering, cooking outdoors in precarious conditions. The Gypsy women photographed by Eric Roset, undoubtedly fled all stereotypes to camp in the world of today, wearing jeans and Adidas, riding a motorcycle, wearing "Made in China fluorescent pink" flip-flops, like anyone who shares the same low economic level.

 

We can thank Eric Roset because he has deviated from the so often explored aesthetic path, to lead us to another reality of Roma women. In this he is a precursor, and well ahead of the general photographic uses of the roma world.

 

Claire Auzias, November 30, 2009

A PROPOS DES PHOTOGRAPHIES DE FEMMES TSIGANES D'ERIC ROSET PAR CLAIRE AUZIAS

 

Les Tsiganes font partie de ces sujets choyés des photographes: exotisme garanti, force visuelle. Quel que soit le style du photographe, il trouvera son content dans ces personnages de tous pays unis dans une puissance évocatrice qui fut souvent célébrée: En Arles, avec  ne serait-ce que Lucien Clergues, l’illustre prédécesseur; mais on trouve des photographies de tsiganes de tous pays depuis le XIXe siècle dans les musées d’Europe.

 

Eric Roset s’inscrit donc dans cette tradition picturale qui saisit un moment d’expression et nous l´offre pour l’immobilité  à venir. Mais ses photos des femmes, davantage que de ses autres sujets et personnages, sont signés d’une idiosyncrasie  reconnaissable  de loin: Ses femmes sont ultra-modernes, peut- être même post -modernes.

 

Elles  vivent en divers pays d’Europe, rurales ou urbaines, caravanières ou sédentaires mais jamais elles ne sont figées sur papier glacé pour la postérité des stéréotypes qui ont tant fait  dans la construction d’une Gitane imaginaire: Non; les femmes   observées par Eric Roset n’ont pas à rougir de leur place dans l’Europe d’aujourd’hui, car elles agissent comme toutes les femmes d’ Europe: elles s’assoient entre elles pour parler, entre femmes: deux amies ici, trois commères là-bas, quatre ouvrières romnia ailleurs: des enfants se maquillent, d’autres posent avec la moue boudeuse, voire contrariées carrément. Elles travaillent. Ici les vendanges, là la cueillette, plus loin la cuisine dans des conditions précaires, la marmite en plein air: Les femmes tsiganes photographiées par Eric Roset, ont fui tous les stéréotypes pour camper indubitablement dans le monde actuel, en blue-jeans et Adidas, à moto, en Tongue made in China rose fluo, comme tous les gens de la planète aujourd’hui qui partagent leur niveau économiquement faible.

 

On peut rendre grâce à Eric Roset de s’être écarté de la voie esthète de nos jours rebattue, pour nous conduire vers une autre réalité des femmes tsiganes, celle qui rejoint l’ordinaire de tout-un-chacun. En cela il est précurseur, et loin devant les usages photographiques généraux du monde tsigane.

 

Claire Auzias, 30 novembre 2009